The Land of Slumber

Am I sleeping? Have I slept at all? This is insomnia.”
– Chuck Palahniuk, author of Fight Club

I have been asking myself the same questions for many nights (…I have lost count) in the past 1 month.

It is not a straightforward case of  unable to fall asleep. As bad as that is, at least I know I can indulge myself in a good book. What’s worse is the kind of sleep that makes you feel you have not slept a wink the next morning. Besides not getting enough rest, I am deprived of a quiet time to read as well.

“It was that sort of sleep in which you wake every hour and think to yourself that you have not been sleeping at all; you can remember dreams that are like reflections, daytime thinking slightly warped.”
– Kim Stanley Robinson

Not sure if he was speaking from experience, but whoever this guy is (I copied his quote from a website and it did not say who he is), he has very aptly described what I have been going through.

Exhausting.

hug-sweet-sleeping-baby

It is vain for you to rise up early, To sit up late, To eat the bread of sorrows; For so He gives His beloved sleep.
(Psalm 127:2)

I hope so… Lord.

Leave a Reply

