Which Is Righteousness? (Part 3)

(continued from my previous post)…

Let us take a look at 1 John 2:6 once again:

He who says he abides in Him ought himself also to walk just as He walked.
(1 John 2:6)

Self-righteous folks like Robert would interpret the verse as “we abide in Christ by doing righteous works like Jesus did”. But let’s look at what our Lord said about “abiding” in Him from the Gospel of John (the same guy who also wrote 1 John):

For My flesh is food indeed, and My blood is drink indeed. He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him.
(John 6:55-56)

No. Jesus did not say “he who did good works abides in Me”, but “he who eats My flesh and drinks My blood”… an obvious reference to the Lord’s Supper!

 “Take, eat; this is My body which is broken for you; do this in remembrance of Me.” In the same manner He also took the cup after supper, saying,This cup is the new covenant in My blood. This do, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of Me.
(1 Corinthians 11:24-25)

Please don’t get me wrong. I am not referring to the physical partaking of the Holy Communion (as beneficial as it is) but rather the spiritual partaking which must come before the physical act of drinking and eating.

But He was wounded for our transgressions,
He was bruised for our iniquities;
The chastisement for our peace was upon Him,
And by His stripes we are healed.
(Isaiah 53:5) 

… who Himself bore our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, having died to sins, might live for righteousness—by whose stripes you were healed.
(1 Peter 2:24)

We partake spiritually when we believe Jesus’ work on the cross… that is, His body was broken for our infirmities and His blood shed for the remission of our sins.

By that… we abide in Him and He in us!

Lords-Supper-still-life

Leave a Reply

