His Presence

Realized a few of my pastor’s books are still lying dormant in my cupboard begging to be read. Not that they are uninteresting, but it is my preference to listen to his sermons rather than to read his words. In any case, I think I am in line with God’s words, since the Bible says “faith comes by hearing“…

Anyway…

As one of my 2014 resolutions (yes, that cliched word) is to finish at least one of the books, I thought it would be a good idea to bring one to my office and keep it within my sight. After much deliberation, I decided on “100 Days of Favor“, which allows me read a chapter a day and I would have reached my reading goal at the end of 100 days .

It proved to be a wise decision (prompted by the Holy Spirit, no doubt), as I discovered plenty of “fresh manna” in it… i.e. verses that I had never come across, or at least never paid attention to.

And this is one of them:

“The mountains melt like wax at the presence of the Lord…”
(Psalm 97:5)

In the Bible, problems, obstacles or enemies are often described as “mountains”, and here God is telling us that they can be overcome them not by good deeds, not by days of fasting, nor by endless prayers, but simply by His presence… in fact those problems will disintegrate (melt like wax) in the face of the Lord!!

I don’t know about you, but it is an awesome and comforting revelation to me. After all,  Jesus is our “Immanuel” (God with us), and He has promised He will never leave me nor forsake me…

jesus-prayer

Leave a Reply

