Praise the Lord

Blessed be the Lord,
Because He has heard the voice of my supplications!
The Lord is my strength and my shield;
My heart trusted in Him, and I am helped;
Therefore my heart greatly rejoices,
And with my song I will praise Him.
(Psalm 28:6-7)

 

I remember in one of his sermons, my pastor was telling the church that when circumstances are against us, do not complain or whine, but give praises to the Lord instead.

Admittedly, it is not exactly the easiest thing to do in the world. After all, when you are up to your neck with problems and the urge to pour out all your grievances to the world is quite understandable.

But we, the believers, are, and should be different. Just as the Bible says we have been set apart by God, and we are in this world but not of this world, shouldn’t we hold ourselves to a higher standard than the secular world? 

David pretty much summed up my pastor’s words in above Psalm.

At the time of his writing, it was clear that he was in a great deal of troubles (read the preceding verses), but in spite of that, he still had the audacity to “praise” God because “his heart trusted Him” and “he is helped” (in past tense, indicating a done deal). 

Shall we not follow the example of “the man after God’s heart”?

Hallelujah…

 

The Lord is great and worthy of our praise.

 

Leave a Reply

