Guilty Feet Has Got No Rhythm

“Careless Whisper” was one of my favourite songs when I was much much younger (Pri 1??), after being contantly bombarded by it’s haunting melody on a daily basis. Thanks to my brother who, at that time, had the ultimate control over the cassette player ((yes… it was that long) and the pocket money to dictate the kind of songs I get to listen to ( talk about whoever has the gold makes the rules).

Of course, being at a age of such pure innocence, I had absolutely no clue to what George Michael was crooning about, except a vague idea that it had something to do with “dancing”.

Anyway, heard this song played on the radio today, and thanks to this marvellous invention called internet, I was finally able to see the lyrics for the first time in my life (reproduced below in parts, as they are really repetitive):

Time can never mend the careless whispers of a good friend
To the heart and mind, ignorance is kind
there’s no comfort in the truth
pain is all you’ll find

I feel so unsure
as I take your hand and lead you to the dance floor
as the music dies, something in your eyes
calls to mind the silver screen
and all its sad good-byes

I’m never gonna dance again
guilty feet have got no rhythm
though it’s easy to pretend
I know you’re not a fool

Should’ve known better than to cheat a friend
and waste the chance that I’ve been given
so I’m never gonna dance again
the way I danced with you
 

And the mystery remains: what exactly was that “careless whisper”…..??

 

The guy who sang the song that haunted my life for a brief period… maybe again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izGwDsrQ1eQ

(for those interested, the above is a link to the song)

Leave a Reply

