(Flawed) Man of God

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.
(NIV Rom 7:15. Paul, in his letter to the believers in Rome)


An artist impression of Apostle Paul.

In the morning David wrote a letter to Joab and sent it with Uriah. In it he wrote, “Put Uriah out in front where the fighting is fiercest. Then withdraw from him so he will be struck down and die.”
(NIV 2 Sam 11:14-15. David, after committing adultery with Bathsheba, instructed his commander to send her husband to his death)

Then Nathan said to David, “You are the man! This is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: ‘I anointed you king over Israel, and I delivered you from the hand of Saul.  I gave your master’s house to you, and your master’s wives into your arms. I gave you all Israel and Judah. And if all this had been too little, I would have given you even more….’
(NIV 2 Sam 12:7-8. Nathan, rebuked David after learning of the latter’s affair)

 Then David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.”
(NIV 2 Sam 12:13. David’s response to Nathan’s accusations)


Prophet Nathan and King David. (No prize for guessing who was who)

For anyone who actually follow my blog, I guess it is no secret that David was my favourite biblical character. But contrary to what many people think, the reason I like him was not because he was such a perfect man. In fact, by any standard (God or secular), he was the furthest thing from being a good guy. 

Granted, he was a valiant warrior and a great king for his people, but at the same time, he was also a blood-thirsty mass murderer, an adulteresss and an absent father. For all his love towards God, his heart was also tainted by his own darker desires. He was both “a man after God’s heat”  and an utterly flawed example of one.

Just like what I quoted from Romans in the beginning of the entry, most (if not all) Christians are like David in this aspect: What the heart wants to do, it may not necessarily be translated into like actions.

In all my years as a believer, I have never never ever boasted in my own power to be good (check out all my previous posts on God). How can I when I know full well I was never able to match up with the pristine standard of my Lord? All I can boast was His grace and love for me… which was what David demonstrated throughout his life…

 For whoever keeps the whole law and yet stumbles at just one point is guilty of breaking all of it.
(NIV Jam 2:10)

Can anyone really able to say he/she is flawless/blameless?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

