Forgiveness

(Inspired by Lee Strobel’s “God’s Outrageous Claims” Chapter 2)

We say, “Forgive but not forget.”
But God says, ” I, even I, am He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake
And I will not remember your sins. ” (Isa 43:25)

We say, “This is way too serious…”
But God says, “Though your sins are like scarlet,
      They shall be as white as snow;
      Though they are red like crimson,
      They shall be as wool. (Isa 1:18)

We say, “Enough is enough!!
But God says, “Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,
      Because His compassions fail not
       They are new every morning;
      Great is Your faithfulness. (Lam 3:22-23)

We say, “I still remember what he/she did to me!!”
But God says, “For I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.”.(Jer 31:34)

It is our greatest blessing that God’s way are not our way and His thoughts are not our thiughts. (Isa 55:8). If not, we will never be assured of our forgiveness. 

But God has different ideas.

Leave a Reply

