The Lighthouse On the Hill

I think sometimes we can become too “spiritual” to be of any earthly good.

It is all so very nice that we will read our Bible, say our prayers or meditate over the verses, but have we done the neccessary “earthly” stuff too? Are we giving our best in our work? Are we providing enough for our family? Are we there to support our friends and loved ones? I mean, what kind of testimony are we giving for the world to see?

Some people tell me it is not important what the world thinks, but what God thinks. Yes, it may be a politically correct statement, but guess what?… it was Jesus Himself who told us to be the “light and salt” of the world. So how can we be a shining beacon of light for the lost when our earthly deeds doesn’t accurately represent what our God is all about? People don’t get to see God all the time, but they do look at us ,Christians, to form their opinion of Him.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not being legalistic here. I am not here to judge. How can I, when my own salvation was an unmerited gift from Jesus.

My point is, if we are really grateful for the gift, then we should do our part to glorify the Giver. It is just like if I love my parents, I will do my best to bring honour to my family name. At least when others look at me, they will say, “What a great guy! His parents have taught him well!”  It is the least we can do for the ones who had sacrificed their lives to bring us up.

Of course, I will be the first to admit I am far far away from being a shining example. I still have plenty flaws, faults, weaknesses, too many than I care to mention, but I am making a conscious effort everyday to improve and Jesus is my strength to do that. After all, the gospel “is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes.” (Rom 1:16)

 

Leave a Reply

